Our History

Home / Our History

The Community Foundation of Southeastern Alberta is a charitable organization that was established by an Act of The Legislature of Alberta on June 26th, 1992 and later amended on June 2nd, 2005.

John IgnatiusThe original idea for the Community Foundation came from a local area rancher, Mr John Ignatius who had supported other Community Foundations and sought to have a local organization provide similar community benefits. John made the first endowed donation of $25,000 and encouraged his many friends and colleagues to follow his example. He passed away in January 2000 and true to his word left the vast majority of his estate to the Foundation. Johns financial contribution was in excess of $2.4 Million but his biggest legacy was the original creation of the Foundation which will continue to support Southeastern Alberta forever.

The area covered by the Community Foundation encompasses The Cities of Brooks and Medicine Hat, the towns of Bassano, Bow Island, Hanna, Redcliff, and Oyen and includes the Counties of 40 Mile, Cypress and Newell and Special Areas 2, 3 and the Municipality of Acadia Valley. The City of Medicine Hat is the largest population centre with just over 62,000 persons followed by the City of Brooks with approximately 15,000 people and the surrounding trading area adding approximately an additional 35,000 individuals.

Vision Statement

Creating a better community: Today, Tomorrow. Forever.

Mission Statement

Improving the quality of life for the people of Southeastern Alberta through developing permanent endowment funds, making responsible grants and inspiring community leadership.

How We’ve Changed Over The Last 20 Years

Logo History

Our History Timeline