FB Pixel



In Fall 2018, three community funds were established to serve the charitable needs of specific geographical regions within Southeastern Alberta. These permanent funds or endowments have been established by local residents and enable the community to “give where you live.” They will operate using the Community Foundation’s charitable status, administration and financial supports,

What is a Community Fund?

  • Supports a specific geographical area
  • A committee of local volunteers in each area will lead the direction of the fund
  • Donations to the permanent or endowment fund are never spent and charitable receipts are issued
  • All donations are invested with a professional investment company
  • The investment income from the fund will be dispersed locally through a local granting process
  • Only registered charities and qualified donees (school districts and local government) are eligible for grants
  • Not for profit societies can partner with qualified donees to apply for grants
  • The first $10,000 donated to each fund will be matched by the Community Foundation of Southeastern Alberta


Community Funds support local charitable needs. The three newly established funds are:

Brooks & District Community Fund

County of Newell                                                 

Nicole Nichols – Community Fund Coordinator   

P: 403.376.8884

E: BrooksDistrictFund@cfsea.ca

Prairie Crocus Community Fund

Special Areas No. 2, 3, and M.D. of Acadia   

Hannah Minor – Program Coordinator                                                   

P: 403.527.9038       

E: PrairieCrocusFund@cfsea.ca

Rural Community Fund of Forty Mile

County of Forty Mile No. 8                                                                               

Michelle MacLean – Community Fund Coordinator

P: 403.866.8901

E: 40MileFund@cfsea.ca

With the support of an ECAP grant from the Government of Alberta, three community funds were established to serve the charitable needs of the County of Forty Mile, Brooks and District and Special Areas 2 & 3 and MD of Acadia.